Search site


Contact

Crystalpatches

403.200.0494

E-mail: crystal_phillips85@hotmail.com

 

 

Looking for a Nutritionist who...

Does individual nutritional consultations for all ages, understands MS and works with elite athletes?

Looking for a Speaker who...

Does motivational, environmental and/or nutrition presentations?

Contact Crystal Phillips from Branch Out Nutrition (contact info above)

 

 

 

Fluffies for MS

10/02/2011 14:02

From Jan 26th-31st, I was competing at the 3rd of 4 Canada Cups in Winnipeg, Mb.  If you did not make the World Cups, you compete on this circuit to get the last spots on the national development team.

Winnipeg is always one of the most dreaded, or should I say "Character building" competitions of the circuit. Not only is the oval outdoors, but it's almost always windy enough to make you feel like you are on some sort of skating treadmill and cold enough to want to rub vaseline on all over your face so it does not freeze. 

So it could not have been a better weekend to get my heart warmed with this story...

It was not until the second day of the competition when a teammate pointed out this poster. I went upstairs to check it out and there was Mary Prendergast, a speed skater who I met at the "Skate Like A Girl" camp last summer.  She had emailed me weeks prior to tell me that she would like to sell homemade skate blade covers but I did not know when or where.

I was so impressed with how she took the initiative and volunteered her time to sell these homemade fluffies (I believe her mom was the one to sew them all) over the weekend. I was also so flattered when she told me how I inspired her with my story and that she wanted to help support Crystal Patches by donating 100% of the proceeds.

In just two days, Mary raised $330 for Crystal Patches!

A big thanks to Mary, the Prendergast family and to all of you who bought Fluffies for MS!